Ajna Chakra

Chakra may now be a common term to you and you may even have an understanding of ajna chakraits meaning.

The chakras (meaning wheel or cycle) are culmination points for nadis (channels) of prana sacral chakra(energy or lifeforce). A useful analogy when considering chakras is to envision nadis as highways, filled with cars (prana) and the chakras are the intersections and roundabouts where these highways meet.

The chakras reside on the sushumna nadi, which is the central channel of energy that is aligned with the spinal column.

Let’s look closely at the third eye chakra:

Ajna Chakra

Ajna means purity and unlimited power and possesses the seed sound aum (or om).

Ajna is also known as the third eye and is located at the centre of the brow and rules our pituitary and pineal glands, the brain, eyes and nose and sinuses.

It guides our intuition, perception, conscience and our experience of the non ego self, third eye yoga adelaidewhere we are at one with creation. This is where our visualisation, imagination, dreams and wisdom emanates from. In this energetic space of the third eye our awareness opens to the Divine and we develop a strong insight and truth through intuition. Here rests our highest mind that looks inwards and is purported to be the eye of Shiva or of a higher consciousness. It is a meeting point of prana where the pranic channels, ida, pingala and sushuma, collide and host the seat of our life force.

‘…in every man there is an eye of the soul, which…is more precious far than ten thousand bodily eyes, for by it alone is truth seen,’ Plato.

The yantra comprises of a circle with two luminous petals, representing ida and pingla as well as representing the union of Shakti and Shiva.

If this chakra is flowing freely you may be aware of headaches, sinus infections, blocked noses and the inability to notice things or imagine your own future.

Things that can help create a healthy ajna chakra include:

  • meditation
  • drawing/painting
  • dream journalling and interpretation
  • hypnosis
  • nadi sodhana

Asana that can contribute to a healthy ajna chakra:

  • Balasana
  • Gomukasana
  • Paschimottanasana
  • Svasana
  • Advasana
  • Ananda madirasana
  • Palming

‘As the ajna chakra is pierced, you experience the merging state of the mind. The mind becomes very still and one pointed, and the thoughts that have created disturbances become quiet. This is the beginning of the final stage of sadhana, which leads to the ultimate attainment,’ Swami Muktananda.

Have you read our post about the throat chakra here? And the rest of the chakras here?